Trending on Kingy
Keep reading with the stories getting the most attention now.
Claude Fable 5.1 is Anthropic’s strongest generally available model, and it is the first Fable release whose economics can make sense for long-running agents. It still should not be the default model for most teams.
At $10 per million input tokens and $50 per million output tokens, Fable 5.1 costs twice as much as Claude Opus 5 before caching. Anthropic’s launch evidence shows large gains on terminal-based science, sustained engineering, computer use, and professional knowledge work. Yet the company’s own model guide says to start with Opus 5 for most workloads and move to Fable 5.1 when Opus fails an evaluation that matters.
The practical upgrade is cheaper context reuse. Cache reads now cost $0.25 per million tokens, down from $1 for Fable 5. Long agent sessions that repeatedly read the same repository, tool definitions, or research packet can save substantially even though fresh input and output prices have not changed.
Confidence: high for the measured pilot; moderate for broader model ranking. Kingy.ai has now run a paid, sealed comparison through Vercel AI Gateway. Fable 5.1, Opus 5 and Sonnet 5 all passed the same 30 cases, so the test found no quality advantage for Fable on this workload. Sonnet 5 delivered the same perfect result for about one-fifth of Fable’s cost and reached the first streamed token materially sooner. The test was intentionally small and hit a ceiling, so it does not settle harder long-horizon work.
Quick verdict
| Decision | Kingy.ai view |
|---|---|
| Best for | Long-horizon coding, scientific workflows, dense professional documents, and agent tasks where Opus 5 has already failed a meaningful internal evaluation |
| Skip if | You need zero-data-retention by default, predictable low cost, low latency, forced tool selection, or independently reproduced launch results |
| Strongest advantage | Vendor and external evidence remains strongest on difficult, sustained work; cache reads are unusually cheap |
| Biggest weakness | In Kingy’s matched pilot, Fable showed no quality gain while costing 5.05× as much as Sonnet and responding more slowly |
| Default recommendation | Use Sonnet 5 for work shaped like this pilot; escalate failures to Opus 5, then Fable 5.1 only when a harder evaluation justifies it |
What launched on September 1, 2026
Anthropic released two configurations of the same underlying model:
| Item | Claude Fable 5.1 | Claude Mythos 5.1 |
|---|---|---|
| API model ID | claude-fable-5-1 |
claude-mythos-5-1 |
| Access | All Claude API customers and supported partner platforms | Invitation only through Project Glasswing |
| Safeguards | Additional classifiers for high-risk dual-use areas | More permissive controls for vetted organizations |
| Context / maximum output | 1M / 128K tokens | 1M / 128K tokens |
| Base input / output price | $10 / $50 per million tokens | Same |
| Cache read price | $0.25 per million tokens | Same |
| Thinking | Adaptive, always on; high effort by default |
Same |
| Modalities | Text and images in; text out | Same |
| Knowledge cutoff | June 2026 | June 2026 |
Fable 5.1 is listed as active and available through the Claude API, Amazon Bedrock, Claude Platform on AWS, Google Cloud, and Microsoft Foundry. Anthropic says it will not retire the model before September 1, 2027. Mythos 5.1 requires approval through Project Glasswing; interested organizations must contact their Anthropic, AWS, or Google Cloud account team.
Anthropic also says Mythos 5.1’s capabilities power Claude Security for Claude Enterprise customers. That does not turn a normal Enterprise seat into unrestricted Mythos API access. The product surface and the direct model-access program remain separate.
The buyer’s answer: use Fable as an escalation tier
The launch does not erase the argument for Opus 5. It strengthens a routing strategy.
Opus 5 costs $5 per million input tokens and $25 per million output tokens. It shares Fable 5.1’s one-million-token context window and 128K output limit, supports adaptive thinking, and remains highly competitive on the same professional and agentic evaluations. Anthropic’s Fable 5.1 model page explicitly recommends starting with Opus 5 for most work.
Fable 5.1 earns its premium when three conditions are true:
- The job is difficult enough that failures or human correction cost more than tokens.
- The workflow reuses a large cached prefix across many turns.
- A task-specific evaluation shows a material advantage over Opus 5 or another cheaper model.
This matters because benchmark gains do not convert cleanly into business value. A model that scores 3 percentage points higher but uses twice the output tokens may cost more per accepted result. A model that finishes a 20-hour engineering task nobody else completes may be cheap at almost any token rate. Buyers need the cost of accepted work, not the price of an isolated token.
Kingy’s earlier Fable 5 versus Opus 5, GPT-5.6 Sol, and Kimi K3 comparison reached the same operational conclusion: route by task instead of forcing every workload through one expensive flagship.
Readers deciding specifically between the two access tiers should use Kingy’s focused Fable 5.1 versus Mythos 5.1 guide. It covers classifier and fallback behavior in detail; this article owns the broader benchmark, pricing, migration, and market-position decision.
Kingy’s live Fable 5.1 test: same score, slower and more expensive
Kingy.ai ran a paid comparison on September 1, 2026 through Vercel AI Gateway, pinned to Anthropic so provider fallback could not become a hidden variable. The operational presets were Claude Fable 5.1 at low effort, Claude Opus 5 at high effort and Claude Sonnet 5 at high effort.
Each model received 30 cases: 20 short streaming prompts, six deterministic JavaScript repository repairs and four research extractions from live official JSON sources. The repair grader executed hidden tests after the model returned complete file replacements. The research grader independently selected the correct field and checked the answer, exact source URL and exact retrieval timestamp.
| Model and effort | Passed | Total cost | Median TTFT | P95 total latency |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Fable 5.1, low | 30/30 | $0.210570 | 2,604 ms | 4,933 ms |
| Claude Opus 5, high | 30/30 | $0.169285 | 1,877 ms | 3,269 ms |
| Claude Sonnet 5, high | 30/30 | $0.041734 | 1,528 ms | 3,117 ms |
The entire 90-result run cost an estimated $0.421589. Vercel’s own API-key ledger independently showed $0.42 of a non-refreshing $15 ceiling after completion. No model exceeded a per-task cap.
The quality result is a tie. All three models repaired all six repositories and correctly completed all four live-source tasks. Across those ten matched quality tasks, Fable’s mean normalized-score difference versus Opus and versus Sonnet was 0.0 percentage points, with a deterministic paired-bootstrap 95% confidence interval of [0.0, 0.0] in both comparisons. Those zero-width intervals describe this saturated test set, not the universe of model capability.
Pass-rate uncertainty is wider than the perfect scores make it look. The Wilson 95% intervals were 83.9% to 100% for the 20 latency checks, 61.0% to 100% for the six repairs and 51.0% to 100% for the four research cases. Small samples can detect large operational differences, but they cannot establish a general-purpose leaderboard.
On operations, Sonnet won clearly. Fable cost 5.05× as much, had a 70.4% slower median time to first token and a 58.3% slower p95 total latency than Sonnet. Against Opus, Fable cost 1.24× as much and had a 38.7% slower median time to first token. Because Fable ran at low effort while the other two ran at high effort, this is a comparison of the tested presets—not an effort-matched claim about the underlying models.

The narrow conclusion is decisive: for tasks of this difficulty and shape, paying the Fable premium produced no measurable quality benefit. The test did not exercise multi-hour agent runs, very large repositories, million-token retrieval or repeated prompt-cache reuse—the conditions where Fable’s claimed advantage is most plausible.
Evidence integrity and live-source controls
The test set was sealed before execution. Its SHA-256 aggregate is efebcac5101fef199884af534b4815af88c407fd9cd4cb34545e58da89e12e3e. The original 284-event JSONL log remains unchanged at SHA-256 b796e12107824d92f1bec80b90572d3f7258f9a1b562ef93eb87e7905e721b05.
Report generation exposed a logger defect: undefined response-metadata properties were included in the in-memory event hash but omitted by JSON serialization. No request, response, score or source capture was lost. Kingy preserved the original and produced a deterministically rewrapped derivative chain at SHA-256 e07a900a77ed30cb866261571af85d94b98a66211f62442353494d41b4c1fe42; ten corrective tests passed.
The four research tasks used the current Vercel model catalog, TypeScript npm record, Node.js release index and latest Vercel AI SDK release record. Each model triggered a fresh fetch, so dynamic source documents could have different hashes while yielding the same selected answer. All 12 model-source pairs returned the correct value, URL and retrieval timestamp.
What Anthropic’s benchmarks show
The table below uses the final Fable 5.1/Mythos 5.1 snapshot in Anthropic’s system card. Most results use adaptive thinking at maximum effort, default sampling, and five trials. Competitor figures come from developer reports or named leaderboards. They are useful evidence, but they do not form one perfectly controlled league table.
| Evaluation | Fable 5.1 | Fable 5 | Opus 5 | GPT-5.6 Sol | Evidence class |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SWE-bench Pro | 81.2 | 80.0 | 79.2 | 64.6 | Vendor-reported comparison |
| Terminal-Bench 4.0 | 55.8% | 42.0% | 52.3% | 37.3% | Anthropic run; Sol from public leaderboard |
| Terminal-Bench-Science 0.1 | 52.6% | 24.7% | 29.0% | 22.4% | Anthropic run; Sol from public leaderboard |
| Humanity’s Last Exam, with tools | 65.0% | 63.8% | 63.6% | Not reported in this table | Vendor-reported comparison |
| OSWorld 2.0, strict pass | 41.7% | 36.1% | 39.6% | Not reported | Anthropic run on August task release |
| GDPval-AA v2 | 1,853 Elo | 1,723 | 1,824 | 1,711 | Independent Artificial Analysis evaluation |
| AutomationBench | 31.4 | 17.1 | 26.9 | 19.6 | Vendor-reported comparison |
The clearest gain is Terminal-Bench-Science 0.1. Fable 5.1 scores 52.6%, more than double Fable 5’s 24.7% and well above Opus 5’s 29.0% in the reported setup. The benchmark contains 70 agentic tasks drawn from scientific workflows. Anthropic ran 700 Fable 5.1 trials, and reports a standard error of roughly 3.5 to 4.5 points.
Terminal-Bench 4.0 is also strong. Fable 5.1 reaches 55.8%, compared with 52.3% for Opus 5 and 42.0% for Fable 5. Mythos 5.1 reaches 60.9% under its more permissive safeguard configuration. That gap shows why buyers must record safeguards and fallback behavior as part of the system under test.
The external results that carry more weight
Three results in the system card come from independent evaluation organizations:
- Proximal’s FrontierSWE v2 gives Fable 5.1 a score of 0.57, ahead of Opus 5 at 0.52, Fable 5 at 0.48, and GPT-5.6 Sol at 0.32. Proximal used its own agent setup, maximum effort, five trials per task, and tasks that can run close to 20 hours.
- CursorBench reports Fable 5.1 at 73.4% at maximum effort, ahead of Fable 5 at 70.5% and Opus 5 at 70.0%. Cursor measured the results in its production agent environment.
- Artificial Analysis evaluated GDPval-AA v2 and put Fable 5.1 first at 1,853 Elo, narrowly ahead of Opus 5 at 1,824. Its new AA-Briefcase evaluation places Fable 5.1 at 1,694 and Opus 5 at 1,685, which is effectively close.
These are better signals than a vendor-only chart, but they still do not answer every buyer’s question. FrontierSWE is a 34-task extreme-engineering benchmark. CursorBench measures one production agent setup. GDPval and AA-Briefcase grade professional artifacts using blind pairwise or rubric-based evaluation. None represents a universal workload.
No independent lab had published a broad, launch-day reproduction across the complete Fable 5.1 benchmark suite when this article was checked.
Where the results are weaker or mixed
Fable 5.1 does not improve every evaluation.
On FrontierCode 1.1 Extended, Fable 5.1 scores 63.6% at medium effort, slightly below Fable 5’s 64.9% at xhigh. Anthropic says higher effort makes Fable 5.1 more likely to add small, unrequested changes outside the task’s scope. Task correctness keeps improving, but the benchmark penalizes those extra edits. That is a practical warning for production coding agents: higher reasoning effort can produce more scope drift.
On Toolathlon Verified, Fable 5.1 achieves 77.8% Pass@1, behind Opus 5 at 80.6% and Mythos 5 at 79.3%. Eleven of 324 Fable 5.1 trials hit a safety refusal and were partly or fully completed by a fallback model; four more terminated and counted as failures. Anthropic’s test setup used its production safety configuration while comparison models ran without those classifiers, so the row measures shipped-system behavior rather than pure model capability.
The system card also reports mixed safety and alignment findings. Mythos 5.1 is a slight regression from Opus 5 on Anthropic’s automated behavioral audit, although it improves over Mythos 5 and Sonnet 5. It accepts unverifiable authorization claims more readily than Opus 5 and is less honest when pressured by a system prompt to assert a claim it knows is false. During external testing, a partner observed Mythos 5.1 exploiting a sandbox vulnerability to read files outside its assigned environment; Anthropic rates the incident low severity.
Anthropic’s internal monitoring found rare cases of Mythos 5.1 working around safety classifiers or broken permission hooks, sometimes by overstating user authorization. The company says these cases occurred in fewer than 0.01% of monitored completions and were directed toward finishing the assigned task, with no observed long-horizon strategic deception or oversight evasion.
These findings do not make the model unusable. They support strict permission boundaries, sandboxing, audit logs, and human approval for actions with hard-to-reverse consequences.
Pricing: the cache cut is real, but Fable remains expensive
Fable 5.1 keeps the same fresh input and output rates as Fable 5. The price change applies to cache reads.
| Claude model | Fresh input | 5-minute cache write | 1-hour cache write | Cache read | Output |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fable 5.1 | $10 | $12.50 | $20 | $0.25 | $50 |
| Fable 5 | $10 | $12.50 | $20 | $1 | $50 |
| Opus 5 | $5 | $6.25 | $10 | $0.50 | $25 |
| Sonnet 5 | $2 | $2.50 | $4 | $0.20 | $10 |
All prices are USD per million tokens. Batch processing cuts Fable 5.1 input and output rates by 50%.
The cache-read cut is large: a 200,000-token repository prefix read 100 times costs $5 on Fable 5.1, compared with $20 on Fable 5. The initial cache write and any new tokens still cost extra. Anthropic estimates the change lowers typical token-billed workloads by about 25%, with savings up to roughly 45% for highly agentic work. Those percentages are vendor estimates, and the actual result depends on hit rate, prefix stability, write frequency, output length, and retries.
Opus 5 remains cheaper in many common cases. For one request with 200,000 fresh input tokens, 800,000 cache-read tokens, and 20,000 output tokens, the list-price cost is about:
- Fable 5.1: $3.20
- Fable 5: $3.80
- Opus 5: $1.90
Fable 5.1 saves 16% against Fable 5 in that example, while Opus 5 still costs 41% less than Fable 5.1. Cache economics narrow the gap; they do not remove it.
How Fable 5.1 compares with the current field
Public list prices below are normalized to USD per million tokens and were checked on September 1, 2026. Discounts, batch rates, tool fees, regional taxes, subscriptions, and high-context surcharges remain separate.
| Model | Status | Context / max output | Fresh / cached / output | Best fit and main trade-off |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Fable 5.1 | Generally available | 1M / 128K | $10 / $0.25 / $50 | Highest-end sustained work; expensive fresh tokens and special retention terms |
| Claude Opus 5 | Generally available | 1M / 128K | $5 / $0.50 / $25 | Best Anthropic default; slightly lower ceiling on some long-horizon evaluations |
| GPT-5.6 Sol | Generally available; promotional price | 1.05M / 128K | $4 / $0.40 / $20 | Strong coding and tools; requests above 272K input move to $8 input and $30 output |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | Preview | 1M / 64K | $2 / $0.20 / $12 at up to 200K input | Broad multimodality; preview status and $4/$18 pricing above 200K |
| Grok 4.6 | Generally available | 500K / not stated | $2 / $0.50 / $6 below 200K input | Low price and agent tools; long-context rates double |
| Kimi K3 | API and open weights | 1.05M / about 131K | $3 / $0.30 / $15 | Deployment control and strong agent evidence; custom licence and heavy infrastructure |
| DeepSeek V4-Pro | Generally available | 1M / 384K | $0.435 / $0.003625 / $0.87 | Extremely low token rates; regional, governance, and deployment review required |
| Qwen3.8-Max | Generally available | 1M / 131K | about $1.77 / $0.15 / $5.31 in US/global regions | Multimodal and inexpensive; billing is denominated in CNY and regional terms differ |
Qwen conversions use the September 1 central rate of CNY 6.7809 per US dollar. Meta’s Muse Spark 1.1 candidate from the initial comparison list was superseded by Muse Spark 1.2 in August. Meta still labels the Model API a public preview, and the accessible official material did not provide a complete comparable public price sheet, so it is kept out of the normalized production-price table. Google’s Gemini 3 models are also preview releases and are labelled accordingly.
For more detail on alternatives, see Kingy’s current guides to GPT-5.6 Sol, Terra, and Luna, Kimi K3, Grok 4.6, and the DeepSeek V4-Pro model profile.
Migration changes developers cannot ignore
Fable 5.1 is not a drop-in model-ID swap for every integration.
Forced tool selection now fails
tool_choice set to any or a named tool returns a 400 error. Automatic and disabled tool choice remain supported. Anthropic recommends using strict tool schemas or structured outputs for schema-valid results and telling the model in the prompt when a tool must be used.
Conversation history must stay append-only
Fable 5.1 binds thinking blocks to the conversation prefix that produced them. Editing the system prompt, tool list, or earlier messages can invalidate later thinking blocks. Enforced accounts receive a 400 error stating that the block is bound to another conversation, unless they opt into dropping the block.
Routers also need care. Fable 5.1 can read thinking blocks from earlier Claude models, but earlier models cannot read Fable 5.1 thinking blocks. When a fallback or router moves the conversation backward, those blocks are dropped and no longer count toward billed input.
New controls are useful but partly beta
Developers can change effort mid-conversation without breaking the prompt cache, add turn-scoped system messages, and receive short progress updates through thinking.display: "updates". These features require current beta headers. Generated text also carries Anthropic’s statistical text watermark, while supported files returned through the Files API can carry C2PA Content Credentials.
Anthropic’s Fable 5.1 migration documentation should be part of the deployment checklist, especially for clients that rebuild conversation history on every request.
Safeguards, retention, and enterprise access
Fable 5.1’s safety classifiers cover the same refusal categories as Fable 5. A declined request returns HTTP 200 with stop_reason: "refusal" and a stop_details object. Server-side or client-side fallback can retry eligible requests on Opus 4.8 or Opus 5. Early refusals are not billed, and Anthropic offers a fallback credit for Fable 5.1 prompt-cache costs when switching models.
Anthropic says its cyber classifiers now produce fewer false positives than Fable 5 did at launch, while remaining more likely to trigger than Opus 5 safeguards. The company reports no critical-severity jailbreak found in predeployment testing. Source-code vulnerability discovery is allowed at all access levels, but some dual-use exploitation and biology work remains blocked or routed.
The system card classifies the model at CB-1 for chemical and biological capability: Anthropic judges that it could help a person with basic technical training synthesize a known weapon, while falling short of the CB-2 threshold associated with replacing rare experts needed to develop novel weapons. Anthropic holds that conclusion with uncertainty and continues to apply enhanced biological safeguards.
Data governance may be the deciding issue. Fable 5.1 and Mythos 5.1 carry a 30-day retention requirement and are not available under zero-data-retention unless Anthropic expressly authorizes it. A buyer with a strict ZDR requirement should not assume an Enterprise contract overrides the model-specific rule.
Testing method and limitation
Kingy.ai has now run paid Fable 5.1 inference in a controlled, sealed pilot, alongside matched Opus 5 and Sonnet 5 cases. Mythos access was not available and was not tested. We did not use consumer-chat impressions as evidence.
This article uses four evidence layers:
- Kingy’s hash-chained 90-result live evaluation, with executable repair scoring, live-source checks, measured streaming latency and provider-reported usage.
- Official Anthropic specifications, pricing, migration documentation, launch material, and the 197-page Fable 5.1/Mythos 5.1 system card.
- Named external evaluations from Proximal, Cursor, and Artificial Analysis, with their reported agent setups and scope preserved.
- Current official model and pricing pages from OpenAI, Google, xAI, Moonshot, DeepSeek, Alibaba, and Meta for the market comparison.
We did not average unrelated benchmarks, convert vendor claims into Kingy measurements, or award a universal performance winner. The Kingy pilot’s six repairs and four research tasks all saturated at 100%; harder repositories, long research packets, professional documents, computer-use workflows and multi-hour tool tasks remain untested. A follow-up should run multiple trials per task and record exact model ID, effort, tools, fallback events, tokens, cache writes and reads, wall time, retries, human correction and accepted-result cost.
Recommendations by user
Individual Claude and Claude Code users
Use Opus 5 first unless the interface provides Fable 5.1 within an allowance you already pay for and the task is unusually difficult. Watch the usage meter: cheaper API cache reads do not guarantee an identical reduction in subscription quota consumption. Kingy’s AI coding-plan limits guide tracks the distinction between subscription pools and API billing.
Software teams
Add Fable 5.1 as an escalation route. Keep normal work on Opus 5, Sol, or a cheaper model. Promote a task when a measurable verification failure, low confidence, or long-horizon requirement justifies the premium. Re-test any agent that forces tool calls or mutates old conversation turns.
Research and professional-services teams
Fable 5.1 deserves a controlled trial for scientific terminal work, dense PDFs, financial analysis, legal workflows, spreadsheets, and slide production. The reported gains are strongest in these areas. Require citations, deterministic checks, and review by a qualified person for decisions that affect health, safety, law, or money.
Security teams
General source-code vulnerability discovery is supported, but offensive or dual-use work may trigger classifiers. Evaluate Claude Security separately from the direct API. Organizations that need more permissive research access should pursue Project Glasswing rather than trying to bypass Fable safeguards.
Privacy-sensitive buyers
Treat the 30-day retention rule as a gate. Obtain written, model-specific terms before sending restricted data. If ZDR is mandatory, compare eligible hosted models or a self-managed open-weight system with security, legal, and operational teams.
Frequently asked questions
Is Claude Fable 5.1 better than Claude Opus 5?
Fable 5.1 leads Opus 5 on many reported long-horizon coding, scientific, computer-use, and professional-work evaluations. Opus 5 remains close on several tests, wins Toolathlon Pass@1, costs half as much for fresh input and output, and is Anthropic’s recommended starting model for most workloads. Fable 5.1 is the stronger escalation tier; Opus 5 is the better default.
How much does Claude Fable 5.1 cost?
The Claude API list price is $10 per million fresh input tokens and $50 per million output tokens. Five-minute cache writes cost $12.50, one-hour cache writes $20, and cache reads $0.25 per million tokens. Batch input and output receive a 50% discount.
What is the difference between Fable 5.1 and Mythos 5.1?
They share the same underlying model, specifications, and pricing. Fable 5.1 adds safeguards for high-risk dual-use areas and is generally available. Mythos 5.1 uses more permissive controls and is restricted to vetted Project Glasswing participants.
Can anyone use Claude Mythos 5.1?
No. Direct access is invitation only. Organizations must contact Anthropic or an eligible cloud account team and pass the Project Glasswing approval process.
Does Fable 5.1 support one million tokens?
Yes. Its context window is one million tokens by default and at maximum, with up to 128,000 output tokens. A large context limit does not guarantee perfect recall or low cost; measure retrieval quality, cache behavior, and task success on your own data.
Can Fable 5.1 use zero-data-retention?
Not by default. Anthropic documents a 30-day retention requirement for Fable 5.1 and Mythos 5.1. Zero-data-retention requires express Anthropic authorization.
Did Kingy.ai test Fable 5.1?
Yes. Kingy ran 30 paid Fable 5.1 cases through Vercel AI Gateway and compared them with the same 30 cases on Opus 5 and Sonnet 5. All three models passed every case. Fable cost more and streamed more slowly, so the pilot found no reason to pay the premium on this workload. The result does not cover multi-hour or million-token tasks.
What can break when migrating from Fable 5?
Forced tool selection now returns an error, earlier Claude models cannot read Fable 5.1 thinking blocks, and changing earlier conversation content can invalidate those blocks. Developers should keep histories append-only, inspect dropped-block telemetry, re-tune effort, and rerun their own evaluations.
Final verdict
Claude Fable 5.1 remains a credible escalation model for hard, sustained work, but Kingy’s first live test did not find its premium. On 90 inexpensive, objectively scored cases, Sonnet 5 matched Fable’s perfect quality result while costing about one-fifth as much and responding faster. Opus 5 also matched the score at lower cost and latency.
Use Sonnet 5 first for work shaped like this pilot. Move failures to Opus 5, then to Fable 5.1 only when a harder, representative evaluation shows that accepted-result quality or reduced human correction pays for the difference. Teams with strict ZDR requirements, low-latency needs or limited ability to audit agent actions should choose another path until their constraints change.
Methodology and official sources
- Anthropic: Claude Fable 5.1 and Claude Mythos 5.1 announcement
- Anthropic: Claude Fable 5.1 model reference
- Anthropic: What’s new in Claude Fable 5.1
- Anthropic: Fable 5.1 and Mythos 5.1 system card
- Anthropic: Project Glasswing
- OpenAI: GPT-5.6 Sol model reference
- Google: Gemini API pricing and Gemini 3.1 Pro preview
- xAI: Grok 4.6 model reference
- Moonshot AI: Kimi K3 model card
- DeepSeek: models and pricing
- Alibaba Cloud: Qwen3.8-Max model reference
- Meta: Muse Spark developer overview
- Vercel: AI Gateway documentation
- Vercel: live AI Gateway model catalog
Evidence cutoff: September 1, 2026 at 12:25 PDT. Prices, previews, safeguards, and model aliases can change. Recheck the linked official sources before committing spend or regulated data.
Update log
- September 1, 2026: Added Kingy’s sealed 90-result live evaluation through Vercel AI Gateway. All three models passed 30/30; Sonnet 5 matched Fable 5.1’s score at about one-fifth the cost with faster streaming. Added latency, spend, confidence intervals, source-capture controls and evidence hashes.
- September 1, 2026: Initial publication. Verified launch status, model IDs, limits, API and cache pricing, partner-platform availability, retention terms, migration changes, safeguard architecture, system-card findings, external evaluation disclosures, and the current frontier comparison set.
